Welcome to OldNewcastle - Where The Story Begins.
Visit OldNewcastle to explore nearly 2000 years of history all packed into half a square mile. Whether you want to explore, take in the fine architecture or discover the rich heritage of the historic heart of Newcastle, there's something here for everyone.
Explore the site of the Roman Fort of Pons Aelius or visit one of the UKs finest examples of Norman stone keeps or donjons. Stop in at The Cathedral Church of St. Nicholas, with its fine 15th century Lantern Tower which for centuries guided ships up the Tyne or take a leisurely stroll around The Black Gate, a Barbican built to the north entrance of the Castle during the reign of King Henry III.
There are many more subtle layers and social histories to explore. The Side is one of Newcastle's remaining medieval streets. Charles Avison once graced the area with his tuneful concertos, in London style, whilst the workshop of Ralph Beilby and Thomas Bewick was at Amen Corner just behind St. Nicholas Cathedral. Admiral Lord Collingwood, who took over command at the Battle of Trafalgar (21st Oct 1805) after the death of Admiral Lord Nelson, was baptised and married in St. Nicholas Cathedral and Mosley Street was the first street to be lit by the incandescent light bulb.
Did You Know
A group of businessmen known as ‘Hostmen’ held a monopoly over the export of coal from the River Tyne. The local businessmen welcomed visiting merchants, brought them up from the Quayside through the streets and chares and provided them with accommodation as well as introducing them to local traders. ’Hostmen’ acted as middlemen between coal producers and shipping merchants.
Nearby Mosley Street was the first street in the world to be lit by the incandescent light bulb, invented by Sir Joseph Swan and first demonstrated at the Literary and Philosophical Society on Westgate Road, 1880. The street facilitated east-west communication between the Flesh Market and Pilgrim Street. The street was named after Mr Alderman Mosley who was instrumental in promoting the material improvement of Newcastle.
Opened in 1810 Collingwood Street was named after Admiral Lord Collingwood Admiral Lord Collingwood, who played a central role in the Battle of Trafalgar in 1805 and successfully concluded the battle after Nelson was mortally wounded. He was baptised and married in St. Nicholas Cathedral.
Neville Street takes its name from Neville Tower. As part of the defensive Town Wall the tower was named after the Neville family, Earls of Westmorland who had a seat at Raby Castle, County Durham. The Nevilles had a town house, Westmorland Place, on the site of the present Literary and Philosophical Society and North of England Institute of Mining and Mechanical Engineers.